Featured projects

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
You have been added to CityLab's newsletter database.

Menu ↑



Australian Furniture Design Award 2024

Cultural & Civic, Small Scale

Australian Furniture Design Award 2024



The Australian Furniture Design Award is a significant Australian furniture design accolade, developed to recognise excellence in Australian furniture and lighting design and its contribution to design discourse and Australian culture.

The Award celebrates the most interesting furniture and lighting design being created in Australia today, with a particular emphasis on new design ideas, critical and creative thinking, sustainability, material development and research that explores innovative production processes.

Now in its fifth iteration, the NGV and Stylecraft present the Australian Furniture Design Award as a two-stage competition with the first stage being an open call for a new and original furniture or lighting design concept and information on the entrant’s professional practice.

The winner for 2024 is Marta Figueiredo with her design “Chronicles of Resilience”

 Endometriosis is a whole-body disease affecting 1 in 7 women in Australia. The "Chronicles of Resilience" cabinet is a sacred vessel designed to tell the stories of people affected by this condition, inspired by the designer's personal journey. The tiles covering the entire façade were inscribed by 11 individuals in a workshop where they shared their lived experiences. This piece aims to dignify people’s lived experiences of endometriosis, advocate for a better future for those living with the condition, and offer a means of connection and solace. 




Wurundjeri Country and Boonwurrung Country


National Gallery of Victoria

Project type


Jury (titles at time of engagement)

Anne-Claire Petre

Founder, Anaca Studio

Elliat Rich


Ewan McEoin

Senior Curator, Contemporary Art, Design and Architecture, NGV

Hamish Guthrie

Director, Hecker Guthrie

Tony Russell

Brand Director, Stylecraft

Project Updates

22 December 2023

The finalists for the Australian Furniture Design Award 2024.

Stylecraft ↗

Related Projects