Featured projects

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
You have been added to CityLab's newsletter database.

Menu ↑



NGV Architecture Commission 2019

Cultural & Civic, Small Scale

NGV Architecture Commission 2019



Each year, multidisciplinary design teams are invited to activate the Grollo Equiset Garden at NGV International with an engaging temporary structure or installation.

This is a two-stage design competition open to multidisciplinary design teams that include a registered architect. Teams can include Australian and international members and may bring together various design and broader creative disciplines to propose a project that explores new terrain for an architecture commission. The ambition of the Commission is to offer an opportunity for architecture and design to be enacted and experienced in their broadest sense. To this end, the Commission encourages proposals that are thought-provoking, issues-led, relevant and resonant and that can facilitate or instigate conversations, dialogue, immersion or reflection. Design proposals are invited to explore various trajectories including (but not limited to) a space to celebrate culture, an experimental work of speculative architecture, an exploration of possible futures, an investigation into ecology, a landscape intervention, a sensorial environment, a place designed for playful interaction, or an immersive space for rest.

The winner of this competition is Yhonnie Scarce and Edition Office. Their submission entitled ‘In Absence’ invites contemplation through its engulfing form and voids above. The 2019 Commission is the recipient of the 2020 National Award for Small Project Architecture (National Architecture Awards), the 2020 Kevin Borland Award for Small Project Architecture (Victorian Architecture Awards), and the 2020 Small Building of the Year (Dezeen Awards).




Wurundjeri Country


National Gallery of Victoria

Project type


Competition Winners

Yhonnie Scarce and Edition Office

Jury (titles at time of engagement)

Andrew Clark

Deputy Director, NGV

Clare Cousins

National President, Australian Institute of Architects

Corbett Lyon

Founding Director, Lyons

Jill Garner

Victorian Government Architect and Principal, Garner Davis Architects

Timothy Moore

Director, Sibling Architecture


Small Building of the Year, 2019 Dezeen Awards

Kevin Borland Award for Small Project Architecture, 2020 Victorian Architecture Awards

Finalist, 2020 Victoria Premier's Design Awards

Shortlist, The Social Space, 2020 INDE Awards

Related Projects