Stadia Precinct Design Competition

State NSW
Client Sydney Olympic Park Authority
Competition EOI and Single Stage Design Competition
Winner TBC

Jury Members
Ben Hewett, Acting Government Architect NSW
Simon Knott, Director BKK Architecture
Oi Choong, Consultant Landscape Architect
Mark Tyrell, Adjunct Professor at UTS & Director of TYRELLSTUDIO
SueAnne Ware, Head of Architecture and Built Environment at University of Newcastle
CityLab is pleased to announce the launch of the Stadia Precinct Design Competition on the 10th of September 2019.

Download the EOI document and the addendum, which includes the registration form on the NSW eTender site here. 


The Sydney Olympic Park Authority is seeking a team to design a public domain concept that breathes new life into the area surrounding ANZ Stadium, the Stadia Precinct. City Lab is the competition advisor to the Competition.

The process is composed of an open Expression of Interest (Stage One) followed by a design response phase (Stage Two). SOPA seeks to attract design participation from a diverse group of outstanding urban designers, landscape architects and architects, working alongside collaborative multidisciplinary design teams to respond to this design brief.

The competition winner will be awarded $100,000 with an additional $100,000 to be divided equally among the remaining shortlisted competitors. A final Construction budget will be subject to future staged funding from development contributions on sites surrounding the stadium. An indicative construction budget will be made available to the Competitors at the commencement of Stage Two.

Stage One
Registrations open           10th September to 1st October 2019 (5pm AEST)
Question period end         1st October 2019 (5pm AEST)
EOI Submission close       8th October 2019 (2pm AEST)
Competitors informed       1st November 2019

Stage Two
Stage Two open                4th November 2019
Biophilic excursion            13th November 2019
Question period end         6th December 2019 (5pm AEST)
Submission close              13th December 2019 (5pm AEST)
Jury presentations            12th February 2020
Competitors informed       28th February 2020