SA Housing Authority Design Competition

State South Australia
Client South Australia Housing Authority
Competition Single Stage Ideas Competition
Winner TBC


Andrew Atkinson
Executive Director, Portfolio Planning and Asset Management, SA Housing Authority
Shannon Battisson
Australian Institute of Architects President-Elect
Erin Crowden
National President of EmAGN
Julie Eizenberg
Founding principal of Koning Eizenberg
Laura Harding
Hill Thalis Architects, Architectural Writer
Jeremy McLeod
Director Breathe Architecture
Peter Tsokas
CEO City of Unley

SA Housing Authority Design Competition
CityLab is pleased to announce the launch of the SA Housing Authority Design Competition. The competition is launched as a partnership between the Australian Institute of Architects, the SA Housing Authority and the City of Unley.

Open exclusively to the Institute’s Emerging Architects and Graduate Network (EmAGN) - members that are within 15 years of completing a Masters in Architecture - the competition is a rare opportunity for the next generation of architects to showcase innovative ideas.

The competition seeks exemplary architectural designs that showcase high quality and affordable residential housing for singles, couples and seniors in the heart of a vibrant precinct in the City of Unley, South Australia. The brief calls for designs that incorporate an existing building, Mornington House, as a potential Innovative Entrepreneur Community Hub.

Prize money: first prize $20,000, second prize $10,000, third prize $5,000.

Registration now open
Question Period Opens 1pm ACST, 21 July 2021
Registration and Question Period Close 1pm ACST, 18 August 2021 Competition Opens 1pm ACST, 21 July 2021
Competition Closes 2pm ACST, 1 September 2021

Registration form here
Question form here