NGV Contemporary Design Competition

State Victoria
Client Development Victoria
Competition TBC
Winner TBC


Citylab is pleased to announce that it has been retained to be the Competition Advisor on the new NGV Contemporary competition.

The competition follows the announcement by the Victorian Government to build the new gallery at the Carlton and United Breweries site, behind the Arts Centre and the National Gallery of Victoria (NGV) in Melbourne.  It is a major part of a new arts precinct in Southbank.

The gallery will be known as NGV Contemporary and will house contemporary art and design. The State Government allocated $150 million in the 2018 budget to buy the Carlton and United Breweries site and start planning works. The building is part of a wider project to dramatically upgrade the public space and links between Southbank and the city's main arts centres.

The Arts Centre Melbourne and NGV together currently attract more than six million visitors every year — twice as many as the MCG. The NGVs recent Triennial drew almost 1.3 million visitors, with 20,000 visitors going through the gallery on some days. As the gallery director Tony Elwood recently said, "The building really does need to expand"

It is expected that the new gallery to be completed by 2025. Stay tuned for future competition announcements.