Living Village Design Competition

State South Australia
Client South Australia Housing Authority
Competition Single Stage Ideas Competition
Winner Inclu Design Architects & Co
Second Place  WW + P
Third Place  David Parsons Architect

Andrew Atkinson
Executive Director, Portfolio Planning and Asset Management, SA Housing Authority
Shannon Battisson
Australian Institute of Architects President-Elect
Erin Crowden
National President of EmAGN
Julie Eizenberg
Founding principal of Koning Eizenberg
Laura Harding
Hill Thalis Architects, Architectural Writer
Jeremy McLeod
Director Breathe Architecture
Peter Tsokas
CEO City of Unley

Living Village Design Competition
The competition was a partnership between the Australian Institute of Architects, the SA Housing Authority and the City of Unley.

Open to Institute members, the Competition was an exciting opportunity for emerging architects to showcase innovative ideas in the affordable housing space, a rare opportunity for the next generation of architects to showcase innovative ideas.

The competition sought exemplary architectural designs that showcased high quality and affordable residential housing developed upon the principles of energy efficiency, environmental, community and cultural sustainability in  the heart of a vibrant precinct in the City of Unley, South Australia.

The brief called for designs that incorporate an existing building, Mornington House, as a potential Innovative Entrepreneur Community Hub.

Prize money: first prize $20,000, second prize $10,000, third prize $5,000.

Registration Opens 29 October 2021
Question Period Opens 05 November 2021
Competition Opens 12pm ACST, 05 November 2021
Registration and Question Period Close 12pm ACST, 10 December 2021
Competition Closes 2pm ACST, 17 December 2021