Alumni House Design Competition

State New South Wales
Client The University of Newcastle
Competition EOI + Single Stage Design Competition
Abbie Galvin NSW Government Architect
Rebecca Hazell
Director of Advancement, Office of Alumni and Philanthropy, University of Newcastle
Brian Jones Program Director, Organisational Change team and Former Director,
Infrastructure and Facilities Services, University of Newcastle
Prof. Michael Keniger Estate Design Director, University of Newcastle and Jury Chair
Razali Rahman Executive Chairman Peremba Group, University of Newcastle alumni
Prof. SueAnne Ware Head of School, School of Architecture and Built Environment, University of Newcastle

Image courtesy of Durbach Block Jaggers Architecture

Alumni House
The University of Newcastle invites Australian architects to participate in a two-stage architecture competition, seeking to deliver an architectural landmark that will form a centrepiece to the University’s Academic Corridor and its interface with the City of Newcastle.

Alumni House will be a social hub for alumni of the University and for the greater community of the city and region, promoting and projecting the University’s identity and aspirations within the City of Newcastle. This requires a site-specific approach that carefully balances the project’s academic and civic profile.

The competition site is located on the corner of King Street and Auckland Street at 231 King Street. The overall size of the site is 624.65m2, with an FSR of 2.5:1 and height limit of 20 metres, this could result in a gross floor area of approximately 1,500m2

The University seeks to attract design participation from a diverse group of outstanding architects, working alongside collaborative multidisciplinary design teams to respond to this design brief.

The Competition is open to Competitor Teams that include a nominated Architect registered (practicing) in Australia.If selected as Winner, the nominated Architect must agree to be registered with the New South Wales Architects Registration Board (NSW ARB).

At lodgement, at least one member of the Competitor Team must be a University of Newcastle Alumni.